DeSoto County and the cities of Hernando, Horn Lake, Olive Branch, Southaven and Town of Walls each have a planning commission.

The county and these cities have adopted zoning ordinances, subdivision regulations, and building, plumbing, gas, electrical, fire codes and architectural ordinances. Flood plans and flood plain ordinances have also been adopted by the county and these five cities. There is a county-wide comprehensive zoning plan in place.